Frontastic sandboxes in the Frontastic studio

Once you've brought up a Frontastic sandbox (see the bringing up a Frontastic sandbox article for more information), you'll see your sandbox in the list of sandboxes like below:

In this article, we'll go through what you can do with a Frontastic sandbox in the Frontastic studio once it's running.

Halting a Frontastic sandbox

Once you've finished working, you can Halt or Destroy your sandbox in the Frontastic studio using the corresponding buttons:

If you halt your sandbox, you can bring it up again when you want to by clicking the Bring up button:

👍

Tip

You should regularly destroy your sandbox and then create a new one. It's actually a good idea to destroy the sandbox when you finish work and create a new one the next day to avoid issues.

Public sandbox

If you ticked Add public DNS when creating your sandbox, you can click the See public URLs button to access the list of URLs for your sandbox.

You can then click the open icon, which will open the URL. Or the copy icon, which will copy the URL for you to share with your team.

For more information, see the using public domains article.

Sandbox states

There are 4 states a sandbox can be in:

  • Running — everything is working normally and you can use this sandbox for your development
  • Halted — someone has pressed the Halt button, you can only use this sandbox if you press the Bring up button
  • Debuggable — the sandbox has errored and you can't use this sandbox for development, but you can use it to find out why it errored
  • Errored — the sandbox has fatally errored and you can't use this sandbox at all

For both the Debuggable and Errored states, you'll see a bug icon like the below:

If you click on this icon, you'll open the logs where you can look into the components that failed to initialize. The components that failed should already be expanded, or you can use the + icon to expand a component section and look into the issues.

We recommend destroying your sandbox once you've finished work for the day. And then bring up a new one the next day. This is because out-of-date sandboxes can cause a lot of issues.

You'll be warned when your sandbox is more than 3 days old like the below:

You can continue working on this sandbox if you want to, but if you run into any errors, you should destroy the sandbox and create a new one to see if the issue still occurs.


Did this page help you?